Erdal Redjep's Blog

Heartland screening at Apollo Cinema in Piccadilly, London, December 2011

Posted in Uncategorized by erdalredjep on November 27, 2011

A couple of weeks ago, I was really pleased to hear that my short documentary film Heartland will be screening at this year’s London Turkish Film Festival. It’s being shown twice in early December, both times at the Apollo Cinema in Piccadilly before a full-length feature film called Shadows and Faces by a film-maker called Dervis Zaim. My film, Heartland, is a study of Turkish Cypriot identity in Britain and the factors important to the experience of Turkish Cypriot migration to the UK and the British-born generations that have followed. I started the project as part of my MA in order to create a body of documentary photographs that would contribute to a stronger social and cultural understanding of ‘Turkish Cypriotness’ in its British context. As it developed, I decided to turn the project into a photo-film to enable the use of sound and narration in combination with my pictures. With the intention of binding the piece together and giving it a human voice, I’ve focused the film’s narrative on the personal story of my mother, which has been placed within the framework of the wider community.

I finished shooting the project in the summer of 2011 and my final edit of the film is 10 minutes and 30 seconds in length. Details of the film’s screenings at the festival can be found on the promotional e-flyer below.

Separate to the film festival but from the same project, I also have a selection of documentary photographs currently being exhibited at Mekan Café and Restaurant in Catford, south-east London. This wall display will be up until January 2012. Again, details can be found on the e-flyer below.

Leave a Reply

